For [livejournal.com profile] atlaland. What it says on the tin subject:



So one of my favorite parts of Avatar: the Last Airbender is the facial expressions of the characters. They are so fantastically exaggerated in hilarious ways, but not all the time for everything - there are just certain moments where expressions on faces are so priceless that words are hardly even needed. Here's some picspam of some of my favorite season one facial expression moments. Not all that much to say here.


Sokka is perhaps one of the most facially expressive characters in every range of emotion, from angry to puzzlement to disappointment. Watching him react to the actions of his 'freakish' sister and Aang, especially in season one, his faces are precious to watch.


Aang seems to alternate largely between expressions of glee and terror, sometimes following right on each others' heels. While he doesn't quite have Sokka's sheer exaggeration, his grin is one of his most recognizable features; ear to ear and full of teeth. In a good way.


Zuko proves that there are about a million and one ways one can make an angry face. Or a befuddled one. Zuko's facial expressions tend to be just that; angry, or the dorky redonkulousness that comes out a bit later. Season one Zuko likes to pretend he's just a jerk, but he has his moments of perfect adorkitude. You can see it on his face.


What picspam of facial expressions would be complete without crazy Badass Grampa Bumi? I just like how similar most of these are. And I am in debate with myself: do the clothes make the man, or do the manic grin and slightly droopy eye make the man, OR IS THE MAGICAL COMBINATION OF BOTH.


Everything else goes here. There are so many priceless expression moments in all three seasons of Avatar, and I would really like to go through one day and find them all. For now, though, consider this a small selection - and if you've already memorized the dialogue, why not practice trying to emulate someone's facial expression from the show in a mirror?

Bonus points to anyone who does Bumi and takes pictures.


(Yes, other LJ friends, this does mean you get a doublepost. :D)

From: [identity profile] bouncy-erbear.livejournal.com


It's funny you say that about saying the lines/dialogue at the end cause with each picture I was practically quoting the scene. XD

From: [identity profile] minviendha.livejournal.com


XD Not a bad thing! But that does mean that you should dress up as Bumi and take pictures, mind you. :|

From: [identity profile] minviendha.livejournal.com


BUT YOU KNOW YOU SHOULD TRY.

...um. XD I suppose it is rather...specially unique.

From: [identity profile] dragon-gypsy.livejournal.com


Hahahaha this was great! \o/ They do seriously have the best facial expressions ever 8D

(/fellow earth_kingdom member)

From: [identity profile] minviendha.livejournal.com


The facial expressions in this show make my life sometimes.

(Helloooo~! I've been quiet, but I do live around there. XD)

From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_snitchbitch/


Haha, priceless! There are so many facial expressions in season 1, and I didn't even realise :) Love it!

From: [identity profile] minviendha.livejournal.com


Sometime I am going to make a picspam of all the awesome facial expressions from all three seasons, and it will probably kill me, but. :| PROJECT FOR A RAINY DAY.

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed.

From: [identity profile] hsiuism.livejournal.com


Awesome selection! About Bumi, I personally think it is the lack of clothes, which shows off his ripped abs, droopy eye, and missing teeth, that make the man. He's like Ned Flanders's crazy grandpa that no one ever talks about XD

From: [identity profile] minviendha.livejournal.com


If he were my crazy grandpa I would talk about him all the time, I'm just saying.

And you have a point there! The lack of clothes certainly accentuates all of the complete picture of Bumidom. I personally have a huge soft spot for the headdress thing, though.

From: [identity profile] blue-lacquer.livejournal.com


Yes, Zuko does run the full range of angry/befuddled...all the time. XD

Nice job!

From: [identity profile] minviendha.livejournal.com


It seems to be one or the other, poor boy. Never a break. Alas. XD

Thank you! It was fun to put together. I should really watch this season again.
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags