Originally posted by [livejournal.com profile] closetospring at SIGNAL BOOSTING EVERYWHERE
so, the new york times covered a story in which an 11-year-old girl was gang raped (POSSIBLE TRIGGER WARNING for the link). an awful story, made even more awful by the fact that they repeated claims that she brought it on herself by the way she was dressed. repeated them. as fact. no critical commentary.

ummm yeah no.

I'm gonna be writing a letter to the new york times. here's their contact information:
http://www.nytimes.com/membercenter/emailus.html to use a form to email them

letters@nytimes.com if you want it to be published as a letter to the editor — include your name, address, and telephone number.

if you want to contact the author of the article directly, click on the article and then click on the author’s name.

If you're on tumblr and want to reblog, I posted this here.

There's also a Change.org petition.

So I try not to make a habit of reposting things. But this - disgusts me. Honestly, truly, disgusts me.

I just...can't. I would be inclined to describe in vicious detail the things I'd like to do to the perpretrators of this sort of thing, but - I sincerely got nothing. Just...fuck.

Yeah.

From: [identity profile] mimblexwimble.livejournal.com


This made me sick when I saw it earlier. I wish I could sign the petition a thousand times over.

From: [identity profile] minviendha.livejournal.com


I just can't even - properly express my disgust and anger over this. It's beyond words.

From: [identity profile] pashchan.livejournal.com


...Man I can't figure out which part of me that article insults more.

The fact I'm a girl or the fact I love journalism.
Edited Date: 2011-03-10 06:38 am (UTC)

From: [identity profile] i-have-a-spork.livejournal.com


Utterly disgusting attitude. She's 11 FFS, since when does the way you're dressed dictate whether people are allowed to rape you?!!!

'Those poor boys'...... how about each of them is gang-raped, then we can talk about genuine suffering.

From: [identity profile] iceybreath.livejournal.com


I just read that article, and oh man did it piss me off. I really fucking hate people sometimes. :(

From: [identity profile] idleleaves.livejournal.com


... When the fuck will people learn that victim-blaming is NOT OKAY. Oh yes, let's sympathise with the boys who committed a disgusting crime, rather than the victim of it.

That bullshit about the girl's appeance is just... okay no, I'm not even going to get started. Just. No.
.

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags