So I just now started reading about this kerfuffle and it has caught my interest in a curiously annoying way, though only slightly. I don't have much to say that isn't in one of those two well written posts, except that the whole thing is a little sketchy and the fact that it is for a book deal means - well. I don't know, I wouldn't want someone reading into my pron preferences as a basis for my desires in real life. The smut I have written is largely for (i) a pairing in which one of the people is underage or (ii) sadomasochistic and semi-nonconsensual. I would really rather not have that represent me, kthanks.
I think people who try to analyze fanfiction think a little too much about it. It always seems a little silly to me, all the people going on about the phenomenon of fanfiction as if it's the next...I don't know. Even. I don't have the words.
It's a hobby, if kind of a weird one, and I think people who have never tried it just don't get the appeal for the people who do. My thoughts, anyway. I'm aware of how subjective those are. And often irrelevant ahaha.
I will let people more eloquent than I express my problems with this shit.
Apparently I'm in a cranky mood today. Bitchbitchwhinewhine.
ETA: Also! This guy. *headdesk headdesk headdesk*
Son of Edit: A post summing up the fail going on here, and some more conversation at unfunnybusiness.
I think people who try to analyze fanfiction think a little too much about it. It always seems a little silly to me, all the people going on about the phenomenon of fanfiction as if it's the next...I don't know. Even. I don't have the words.
It's a hobby, if kind of a weird one, and I think people who have never tried it just don't get the appeal for the people who do. My thoughts, anyway. I'm aware of how subjective those are. And often irrelevant ahaha.
I will let people more eloquent than I express my problems with this shit.
Apparently I'm in a cranky mood today. Bitchbitchwhinewhine.
ETA: Also! This guy. *headdesk headdesk headdesk*
Son of Edit: A post summing up the fail going on here, and some more conversation at unfunnybusiness.
Tags:
- ...,
- angry,
- asshattery,
- bitch plz,
- desirous of delivering smackdown,
- e for effort guys,
- faileboat,
- fandom,
- fap fap fap,
- for the lose,
- fuck this shit,
- fun with internets,
- gtfo of my fandom kthxbai,
- i have had enough of your shenanigans,
- lise complains,
- lise does not like this shit,
- losing faith in humanity,
- rant,
- serious business,
- stupidity,
- wankity wank wank,
- what is this fuckery?,
- whine whine whine
From:
no subject
UGHHHH.
Sorry, that was my mini feminist rant on the subject, hah.
From:
no subject
It is. The more I read about it the skeevier it gets.
I hope they get in trouble with somebody higher up for this.The bad part is that I kind of want to read the book just to see what kind of shit they're putting in it. >>;;
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
(Also, your tags sum this up really, really well.)
From:
no subject
And it really is. It's kind of glorious the shitstorm fandom makes when its ire is raised.
From:
no subject
So yeah. Basically this is just full of stupidity and makes me a little angryfaced. Lucius and his pimp cane just say no.